IndiaNewsonWeb Logo
Information on various aspects of history, geography, states, districts & personalities of India
||Farooq Abdullah was born today||Farooq Abdullah was born today||Sri Krishna Sinha was born today||Surjit Singh Barnala was born today||Surjit Singh Barnala was born today||Jagdambika Pal was born today||Virendra Singh was born today||Godam Nagesh was born today||Suresh Mehta had died today.||
Home >> News >> BJP Won First Time Rajya Sabha Seat in Manipur

BJP Won First Time Rajya Sabha Seat in Manipur


IndiaNewsonWeb: 26 May, 2017, Manipur BJP President Khatiramayum Bhabananda gave a dig at his party in the Rajya Sabha elections held on Thursday. He won the Congress candidate by defeating 18-year-old Lengabam Digvamani by 18 votes.

Significantly, the Bharatiya Janata Party won the Rajya Sabha seat for the first time in Manipur. There is only one Rajya Sabha seat in Manipur which is now in the possession of the Bharatiya Janata Party. 39 members of the 60-member assembly of the state gave Bhabananda while 21 members voted for Dijavamani. In this way, Bhabananda captured the Rajya Sabha seat of Manipur by defeating Dijavamani by 18 votes.

There are 38 members of BJP and allies in the Manipur assembly. State Chief Minister N. Biren Singh has said that even more Congress MLAs are going to join his party. Six out of 28 Congress MLAs had already adopted the Bharatiya Janata Party, which reduced the number of Congress MLAs to 22.

Copyright © 2017
Powerd By SavvyonWeb